Q & A for 365 Days: First 3 days of 2013

Last year, I bought a Q & A 5-year journal at one of those huge bookstores that always has sales. It took me a few days to actually buy it.  After browsing it several times while waiting for my bus and being amused by some of the questions, I made the purchase.  I guess I could have started it anytime, but I decided to wait until January 1. So, 3 days have passed and I’ve answered 3 questions.

*****

January 1: What is your mission?

I’ll be honest with you. I don’t like this question.  At 32, I should have a clear mission and be on the path to achieving it, right? Wrong.  Sometimes I wonder how my life would have turned out if I had never studied in Thailand.  I wouldn’t have fallen in love, and gone back to live there for nearly 6 years.  Perhaps, I would have stayed in Victoria, continued my education, found a good stable job (do they exist?), met a nice guy and tied the knot, bought a house and shared it with a couple four-legged friends…..yada yada.  Hmmm….it sounds a little bland, but I would have been settled and on a mission, right? Wrong.  I would have missed out on so many experiences, mistakes, loves, promotions, friendships, and adventures that have ultimately made me who I am today–the good and the bad.  I’m digressing.

Here is my answer. My mission is to find a mission.  I feel like I need to fit all the pieces of my life together. Right now, I’ve got the corners and the edges done, but the middle needs some work.  One thing I do know is that I want my work to make a difference in the lives of others.

January 2: Can people change?

Of course, they can.  You have to believe people change.  Isn’t that the one constant thing in our lives? The one thing that you can count on is that nothing and no one ever stays the same.  You can change your habits, just like you change your clothes. It might not be as easy, but it can be done.  (Try the 21 day rule.  After doing/saying/thinking the same thing for 21 days a new habit will form.)

Your core values and beliefs can even be challenged, and this can bring about change.  Some of us are stuck in the mud, others are blowing in the wind, but we all have the capability of changing to a certain degree. Aren’t New Year’s resolutions all about change?  So, yes, people can change.

January 3: What are you reading right now?

I started watching The Mindy Project a couple of weeks ago, and although it hasn’t become a habit yet, I think it will in another week.  I have a thing for shows that have strong, quirky, female leads who are unlucky in love.  (Think Ally on Ally McBeal or Erica on Being Erica…….sadly, these shows are no more.) Mindy Kaling was funny in The Office, and she’s even funnier in her own show.  So, I am reading her book right now. It’s called ‘Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)’. Even the titles of the chapters make me smile — “The Day I stopped Eating Cupcakes,” “Non-Traumatic Things That Have Made Me Cry,” “Married People Need to Step It Up,” and “Why Do Men Put on Their Shoes So Slowly?” are just a few.  What I love about her is that she is honest (and admittedly naive) and proud of her successes and failures.  She owns the fact that she didn’t learn how to ride a bike until she was 12 years old, and that she was “Camilla Parker Bowles The book I am readinglevel famous” at Dartmouth College.

*****

I have my work cut out for me.  I will need to change to take on my new mission, but like Mindy, I’m going to own my successes and failures along the way.

What are your answers to these questions?

3 thoughts on “Q & A for 365 Days: First 3 days of 2013

  1. Leslie January 4, 2013 / 3:46 pm

    Here’s another question: Can your mission change? Yes! My mission, until I was about 34, was to get married and live a life sort of like the one you described above, with the addition that I would raise a houseful of happy kids whom I would educate at home because our school systems suck. And then my life changed. Can people change? Big time. Around the time I moved into your basement and got to know you, I was going through major changes, and 20 years later, nothing leads me to think that those changes are complete. Like you, it took me a long time to find a mission, but once I was able to articulate it, I realized I had always known what it was. And here it is, subject to revision, of course:

    My mission is to raise my sons to go out into the world and live authentic, meaningful lives; to tell my story; to discover and tell the stories of my ancestors and the people of this community that I was so emphatically drawn to; to help others to communicate their stories and bring their cherished projects to fruition; to speak out against injustice when I see it; and to joyously walk the path that is painted on my feet, wherever it leads.

    Happy new year, Amy! Thanks for sharing your journey.

    • lotusgirl80 January 5, 2013 / 8:17 am

      Thanks for your response, Leslie, and sharing your beautifully articulated mission with me. And yes, your mission can change. That is the beauty of it — it’s not set in stone.

      Wishing you a joyful 2013 as you continue on your path!

Leave a Reply

