Being an egg & sentimental over liquorice

January 19: List 3 foods you ate today.

1. Hard boiled egg:  I don’t usually eat eggs, but when I do they are either hard-boiled or scrambled.  I’m a bit of an egg myself —white on the outside, yellow on the inside.  I think I must have been born in Asia in a past life.  Anyone who knows me will tell you I am more Thai than farang…..in many ways.  After living in Asia for so long, I eat comfortably with the absence of a knife, prefer to sit on the floor, cringe when others wear their shoes inside, and live happily in a shoe box.

2. Cheeseburger: I can’t believe I am admitting this. I wanted to order the healthier choice –the chicken  burger, but my friend had already ordered that.  So, in the back of my mind I was thinking that if the cheeseburger is gross, I will convince him to swap burgers. Anyhow, I ended up enjoying every juicy bite of my cheeseburger.

3. Soft eating liquorice from Australia – strawberry flavoured:  I went to a movie.  That’s my excuse.  I’ve always loved liquorice.  My mom used to mail it to me when I lived in Thailand.  Then I discovered soft eating liquorice in Bangkok.  That became my new sweet addiction, and I am sure it made my mom happy!  She no longer had to spend $20 to send me some Twizzlers.   So, as I was enjoying the imported liquorice last night, I was getting sentimental recalling my nights in Bangkok, curled up in my futon with a good book, and my foreign treat.

PicMonkey Collage

Leave a Reply

