Running & connecting

January 21: What are you looking forward to?

I’m looking forward to going for a run on Thursday.

Now, that the New Year is here, I should stick with at least one resolution and let my running shoes see the beautiful world outside my door.  I live in a wonderful neighbourhood, just minutes from the ocean , temperatures are above freezing, and I’ve found a new running partner.  So, I’ve run out of excuses not to run.

ocean

In the past, I enjoyed running as a solo activity, but in recent years, I’ve found it is a great way to connect with others.  In Korea, my running buddies turned into wonderful friends, and their company and stories motivated me to keep going. On our runs, I learned about Korean history, film making, the ups and downs of marrying your opposite, and pushing your limits.  These are things I would never have learned running solo along the river.  And as I run along the ocean in Canada, I hope to learn new things and be inspired by the stories around me. And no matter how hard it is to get out there for a run, I know that I will come back a little wiser, and a little stronger.

One thought on “Running & connecting

Leave a Reply

