Uncharted dreams

January 24boat: If you were going to start your own company, what would it be?

At the moment, I have my own tutoring company, and make my own schedule.  It’s a small business, but it’s rewarding to have built something on my own, and so satisfying to answer only to myself.  It’s tough, too.  It’s a one-woman show, and if I succeed or fail, it’s all my fault.  I’m continually learning new ways to market myself, and reminding myself what I’m worth.  It’s ironic, but it’s my students that help me with this the most.  They are all savvy Japanese women in their early thirties that are either studying English or building a life in Victoria.  In their home country, they are computer programmers, wedding planners, teachers, nurses…. They have left their jobs to pursue their studies in a foreign country.  One has even left her family to pursue a new life and career in Canada. They all are truly inspiring, and I can’t help but feel that we aren’t that different.  We’re all in new territory, feeling a little out of place at times, but still forging ahead.

And my dreams go beyond my tutoring company.  But I’ve learned that it’s not always wise to share a dream until it comes to fruition.  Sharing a dream gives you a false sense of accomplishment, and the fuel you have to chase it diminishes somewhat.  So, for now, all I can say is that I will follow in the steps of many in my family, and become the captain of my own ship.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

