NaBloPoMo Day 8: 5 things I’ve learned from blogging

NaBloPoMo is challenging, but I’m glad I’m doing it. The first week is over, and I’ve been reflecting on what I’ve learned from blogging for 7 straight days. I’m sure most bloggers are going to leave this piece until the end, but I’m an introvert, so this reflecting/ruminating is going on 24/7. And I’d like to do some sharing while these thoughts are fresh in my head.

  1. I’m not alone.  I’m not the only one that suffers from writer’s block. I’m not the only one that has an annoying inner critic. I’m not the only one that comes alive at a keyboard. I’m not the only one with a sense of humour. I’m not the only one with a story to tell. There is this creative community of bloggers out there, that I’m slowly getting to know. They’re an inspiring group, and their posts, comments, and tweets are helping me stay in this blogging game!
  2. Discipline is key to moving forward. Even though I’m a freelancer, I need deadlines and routine. Maybe it’s because I am a freelancer that I need this structure in my life. Before starting NaBloPoMo, I was posting about once or twice a month. Of course, I wanted to blog more, but something always came up. (Excuses! Excuses! I’m a seasoned  procrastinator.) Blogging every day has taken discipline, but it has been so worth it. I’m moving forward with my blogging, and this is also seeping into other areas of my life. With discipline, I feel stronger and capable to take on bigger challenges.
  3. Authenticity makes me relatable. The days when I don’t feel like writing are the days that I do some of my best work. When I stop trying so hard, my voice breaks through. It’s my fresh face with no makeup. It’s not contrived, it’s real. It’s the voice of your best friend or that girl you want to know more. She’s been where you’ve been, she’s a bit like you, she’s nothing like you, she has her doubts, she has her dreams, she’s still finding her footing. You can relate to her on and offline.
  4. Thinking too much is counter-productive. When I think too much, I lose my authenticity, my relatability. I get stuck in my monkey mind, and nothing comes out, or I start getting preachy. Sometimes I read over my old posts, and I’ll catch a line that is a bit condescending or a bit too epiphanous. For the past 7 days, I haven’t had time to think too much. I have to fit my writing into my schedule. I don’t have the luxury of staying up til 3am working on a post, because I have morning commitments, and that would get me off the blogging track.
  5. I can write no matter where I am. I’ve always done a lot of writing in my head, but now I can write no matter where I am with my smartphone. I’m of the generation that doesn’t write with a pen and paper anymore. Somehow my thoughts seem to get clogged in the ink, and when I reread my work there are missing words. Somehow my thoughts flow much smoother and quicker with the help of  smart devices. Some of the last 7 posts have been written on the bus, in a coffee shop, or on my laptop by candlelight.

candle

 

 

That’s it for now. It’s time to get ready for my friend’s engagement party!! See you tomorrow for Day 9. Happy NaBloPoMo!

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 8: 5 things I’ve learned from blogging

  1. I totally relate to this! Like you, I am an introvert and I often think too much and that gets my writing into trouble. I lose my authenticity as well. This project is teaching me to just write, think later. I know you will keep your momentum going! Best of luck! 🙂

    T
    rangeelichick.com

    1. Yes, I’m not alone :-). Thanks so much for commenting, and leaving words of encouragement! Best of luck on day 9…I’ll hop over to your blog for some introvert inspiration ;).

Leave a Reply

