NaBloPoMo day 16: still in the game

My friend looked at me blankly. Double eyelids? She wasn’t the first to ask me what double eyelids were. Truth be told, I didn’t even know what they were until I went to South Korea, and realized I had them. I had something that was highly coveted, something that women went under the knife for. The creases above my eyes….I have two of them.

Funny, this was going to be about finding my style in Korea because there were beauty standards I could not possibly live up to. Instead, this is going to be a ramble. I’m still in the game. It’s amazing how quickly things can change. Tonight I was procrastinating, and then I finally sat down and the words were coming. Then an interruption, and a hard conversation, and everything has changed. I’m writing behind a veil of tears. Tonight I wish to be anywhere but here. Tonight I wish I could turn back time. But it’s too late.

So, I am here writing because I said I would. I’m staying disciplined because I know that in the end it will be worth it. I’ll get through this. Even though my voice is shaky, it is still here, and it is mine alone. I’m a fighter, and I’ll move on, and I’ll get stronger.  That I know to be true, and that is what keeps me going, keeps me growing. Even though my eyes are like leaky faucets right now, I know tomorrow will be a bit brighter.

beach 2

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo day 16: still in the game

  1. I’m wrapping you and your leaky double eyelids in a big hug. Please know that you don’t always have to be strong and go it alone to stay in the game. Sending big love, Leslie

Leave a Reply

