NaBloPoMo day 21: first book of poems

LangLeavI have a confession. I’ve never been a fan of poetry. It’s too abstract and vague. By the time I think I understand a poem, the words have bled together on the page. In life there are enough uncertainties, things left undone, and reading between the lines, so when I curl up with a book, I want to escape that. I want to read a book with a beginning, middle, and end. That’s the way life is, right? Lately, I’ve been wondering if it is that simple, so I bought my first book of poetry by Lang Leav. It turns out there is a beginning, middle, and end to her Lullabies (Andrews McMeel, 2014), but she calls them Duet, Interlude, and Finale. I guess it’s not so abstract, even I can work with that.

*****

Love (Duet). I wasn’t prepared for it. It swept over me slowly, at first a simple joy that began to stir in my heart, then it shone through my eyes, and then overflowed into my life. My days became brighter, and I felt a certain certainty. A certainty that this was right, this was equal, this was love.

Up and down (Interlude). Love had taken a hold of me, even though I couldn’t utter the words. It was undeniable, he had my heart. Even though we had 7 weeks apart, we were always connected in some way. My love kept growing stronger. When he needed me I was there….even when he didn’t. And he was there for me, too. His sweetness showed me he cared. His touch showed his love, even though he could not utter the words. We weren’t perfect, but we had honesty and respect.

Breaking (Finale). Two different worlds colliding. Hoping the other would change, hoping the other would have patience. No longer meeting half-way. Reaching out, but not connecting. Still in love, but not knowing how to move forward.

*****

Thank you, Lang Leav, for your poems, your strands of love, loss, and hope. They have found me at a time when I need them. Each one of your poems speaks to me, letting me know that I’m not the only one who has been here.

Over My Head

I count his breaths,
in hours unslept,
against hours of him,
I have left.
With him lying there,
with him unaware,
I am out of my depth.
 
– Lang Leav
 
7 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo day 21: first book of poems

  1. fictionistasan November 21, 2014 / 9:47 pm

    They say you spend your whole life rewriting the first poem you ever loved 🙂 ❤ love the poem Btw… Thanku for sharing! The first poetry collection that I read was Gitanjali by Rabindranath Tagore.

    Poetry makes the world much more beautiful…don't you agree! 🙂 🙂

    • lotusgirl80 November 21, 2014 / 10:18 pm

      Thank you for stopping by my blog :)! I’m slowly learning to appreciate poetry more….did you read Gitanjali in it’s original Bengali? Sometimes I find so much can be lost in translation. Looking forward to checking out your poems 🙂

  2. Gillian November 21, 2014 / 10:32 pm

    I love your writing – like reading poetry. Sorry for your love no more but so wonderfully eloquent in the matter.

    • lotusgirl80 November 22, 2014 / 7:40 am

      Thanks so much, Gillian :). Even on the days that I don’t want to write, I know it’s been good for me.

  3. bharatibelmore08 November 25, 2014 / 5:49 am

    Thanks for sharing, I am tempted to get this book, poems do sound good.

Leave a Reply

