NaBloPoMo day 23: Writer’s block sealed with a kiss

I’ve run into Writer’s Block in disguise. I could pour my heart out, let it weep all over the page, but she’s telling me to write more, more of what makes my heart sing. In this place, I can’t remember what makes my heart sing, so I’m dealing with Writer’s Block. A few months ago, I turned to some great writers – Lamott, and 2 Goldberg’s – for some help. I’ve only cracked Bonnie Goldberg’s  Room to Write (Penguin/Putnam,1996) a few times, but never used any of the prompts. Today, that is going to change. I just opened the book to a random page, and these are the words looking up at me — Say it with a kiss. Not really what I want to think about right now, but I’m going to give it a go. A little fictional kiss.

*****

When she was with him, she seemed to forget about the world around her. She was just there with him, soaking up his words, and memorizing the lines on his face. He had such a beautiful face when he smiled, a smile just for her. As they sat with their backs to the ocean, she watched his lips, and wondered what it would be like to feel them on hers. As these thoughts crossed her mind, she could feel herself blushing, hoping he wasn’t a mind reader. Perhaps, he was. He took her hand in his, and traced the lines on her palm, the lines of the heart and head. Was he in that moment with her? Just the two of them. She closed her eyes, and breathed in the salty, ocean air. When she opened her eyes, he was still there. Their eyes locked, and they met half-way, their lips touched softly. It was soft, warm, tender — no hesitation. They were exactly where they wanted to be.

kiss

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo day 23: Writer’s block sealed with a kiss

  1. bharatibelmore08 November 25, 2014 / 5:50 am

    I love this one too, and great idea to solve the writer’s block.

Leave a Reply

