NaBloPoMo day 30: I’m done!

LotusI’m done! I made it through National Blog Posting Month, and managed to blog every day for the entire month. There were days when I wanted to throw in the towel, there were days when I wanted to stomp my feet in refusal, and there were days when what I wrote left a sour taste in my mouth. My Inner Critic and Writer’s Block were conspiring against me on numerous occasions, and they almost won at times. There were unexpected circumstances that threw me off, but in the end fueled some great posts. And this writing, non-stop for 30 days, gave me some clarity and discipline.  All in all, it’s been a rewarding experience. So in closing, I am going to leave you with a list of what I’ve gained in the last 30 days.

  1. Determination. I kept going even when I wanted to stop. This will get me far.
  2. Kept promises. I promised myself that I would blog until the end, and I did. Never underestimate the value of a promise.
  3. Time to reflect. Every day I had to be present with my thoughts. I reflected on my day, how I felt, where I was going.
  4. Clarity and healing. This is a byproduct of reflection. I was able to make more sense of my life around me. I was able to sit with my heartbreak.
  5. New appreciation. I bought my first book of poems, and I even dabbled in some of my own. Sometimes less is more.
  6. New followers. My blog has never been ogled this much. Within the last 30 days, I’ve gained at least 10 new followers, and reached over 200 Likes!
  7. Appreciation for my own voice. I can’t believe I am going to admit this, but sometimes I would review my writing, and think Wow…..this lady can write! 
  8. More articulate. Sometimes I’m at a loss for words, but this blogging marathon has helped me articulate my voiced thoughts in a more eloquent manner.
  9. Motivation to pursue other challenges. In the grand scheme of things, blogging for 30 days in a row is a small feat, but it has motivated me to pursue greater things, and take risks.

When I set out on NaBloPoMo, I wanted to explore my transition back to the west after living in Asia. I wanted to get back to the root of my blog.  In the beginning, I was doing this, but then I got side-tracked. One thing I’ve learned from living abroad is that you need to adapt to your circumstances, and so that is what I did. I started writing from my heart. It wasn’t always pretty, but it was real. And that is who I am —not always pretty, but real.

 

5 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo day 30: I’m done!

  1. Gillian Hillidge November 30, 2014 / 8:36 pm

    Congrats Amy. Through all your turmoil you brought me joy Thank you so much

    • lotusgirl80 December 1, 2014 / 8:10 am

      🙂 so glad I could bring you some joy!

  2. bharatibelmore08 December 1, 2014 / 3:34 am

    Great job Amy and I love the reflections, perhaps I will try that with a poem. You can write. I really did enjoy reading your work.

    • lotusgirl80 December 1, 2014 / 8:07 am

      Thanks so much! I’ve been enjoying your poems too.

Leave a Reply

