NBPM #6: Flowers for Friday

Flowers at Pike Place MarketThis morning, I walked into the office at 10:30 and found a beautiful bouquet of lilies, irises, and pink gerbers on my desk. This time the flowers were for me! They were ‘thank you’ flowers from a colleague, on her last day. For a moment, I thought maybe they were from him. It’s been nearly a year since we’ve been through, and I guess I’m still a little hopeful and/or delusional.  Anyhow, I’m not going to get into matters of the heart at this time of night, especially on a Friday. Friday was our day.

 

flowers3Tonight, Friday is for flowers.  Although I would rather receive chocolate, the beauty of flowers does not escape me; the vibrant colours, the intricate petals, the sweet fragrance, all make me stop and appreciate. Flowers on their own are beautiful, but it is the stories and intentions behind them, that warm my heart.  Yesterday, a student at my school received flowers from her husband in honour of their seven years of marriage. Many yesterdays ago, I received white lilies on a first date. Last month, I received a single coral rose for my birthday.  On Mother’s Day, I sent a bouquet to my mother at work.

Flowers say so many things – Thank you, Good luck, Congratulations, Happy Birthday, Happy Anniversary, You’re cute, You’re special, I admire you, I’m proud of you, I love you, I’m sorry, Get well soon, Let’s try again. The list of sentiments goes on, and the gratitude flowers express lives on, even after they are gone.

Couple buying flowers at Pike Place Market, Seattle
Couple buying flowers at Pike Place Market, Seattle

 

 

4 thoughts on “NBPM #6: Flowers for Friday

Leave a Reply

