NBPM #10: Change of plans

change of planIt’s NaBloPoMo day 10, and I am going to tell you right away that this post is going to be short and sweet.  Do you ever have those days that are filled with little twists and turns? I say ‘little’ because the changes in your day aren’t major, but they’re definitely noticeable. Today was one of those days for me.

After turning off my alarm several times, and rushing around to get ready, I finally bit the bullet and fired off a text to my colleagues. “I’m running late….about 15 minutes late. Sorry. 😦 ” Anyhow, the extra 15 minutes gave me time to prepare lunch and put some eyeshadow and mascara on. It gave me time to walk to the bus stop, instead of running at full speed, like I usually do. What can I say?! I’m not a morning person.  Today, I gave myself permission to NOT be a morning person. I did stay an hour and a half late today, so I don’t feel guilty about those 15 minutes!

Allowing myself to go to work late was the first twist.  The second one came at work, when I felt like I could breathe, and that I was on top of my to-do list. It was an empowering feeling, one that I haven’t felt in a long time. Although I was busy with students and teachers, I felt like I was sailing smooth seas.  The day was going so smooth that at the end of the day I thought I’d give my boss a little scare. In my most serious and official voice, I told him that we should talk in private. I could tell he was apprehensive. My colleague had handed in her resignation two weeks ago. Anyhow, once behind closed doors, I presented him with a Thank you/Farewell card for that colleague, so that he could sign it before he left for his business trip. As he was writing away in the card, he let out a sigh of relief. I chuckled to myself. Sometimes, I have an odd sense of humour.

Another turn was in store, after I finally committed to taking the bus, on such a chilly night, to my Arabic class.  On the bus, I connected with a fellow student and we chatted on our way to class. We had never had an opportunity to talk before, and all I knew was that she was born in Saudi Arabia, left when she was a baby, grew up speaking Arabic with her parents, but soon English took over, and now she was rediscovering her mother tongue. On our way to class, I learned about her studies, her time spent abroad, and her interest in going to law school.When I found out that our class was cancelled due to reading break, I was disappointed, but happy that I had made the bus journey and a new connection.

After we parted ways,  I walked to the bus stop and mentally prepared myself for an early night. Then a voice in my head said, “Why don’t you go to a movie?”  So, that is what I did.  I went to see Mr. Holmes. It’s not the kind of movie I would usually watch, but then again, it wasn’t a usual day. In the end, I was glad I went, and I enjoyed every twist and turn in the story, right along with the beautiful scenery.

As I was riding home on the bus, I recounted the day, and all the unexpected twists and turns.  When I had woken up in the morning, I had had my day all planned out. None of it went according to plan. I never expected that I would go to work late, exchange numbers with a fellow student, not go to Arabic class, and instead  go to a movie. Sometimes, plans change and the day turns out to be a little more extraordinary than you expected!

P.S. I guess this isn’t as short and sweet as I thought it would be.  I’m just trying to stick with the theme ;-).

Leave a Reply

