Dating & Connecting

A Soundtrack for Crushes

Do you remember that first crush? Maybe you were in high school, and it never amounted to anything more than a flutter in your heart. Maybe he didn’t even know your name, but you wrote your initials beside his in a little heart on the desk, in your notebook, and on the bathroom mirror. You knew the way he walked, and the sound of his laugh. He thought he was cool, and so did you. You imagined what you would say to him, if he asked to borrow your pen, and smiled at him behind his back.  And then when your eyes eventually did meet, he was the first to smile before you looked away, blushing.  Maybe it became more than that, maybe it didn’t, but you’ll always remember that crush.

And as you got older you still had those crushes to varying degrees. I still remember those butterflies, and how the world would stand still when I was with you. My hand fit in the crook of your arm just so, and you even sat beside me when we ate. You said it was easier to share that way.  I remember staying up till 2am and then texting that same morning to tell you I was on cloud nine. Or was it you that told me that? It’s a bit foggy now, but I do remember I forgot to pay my rent. You were the only thing on my mind. And I remember sitting there waiting for you, then the warmth of your hands on my shoulders when you did arrive, and finally that smile. Even though you were late, it was impossible to get mad at you. That was just the beginning –it all started with a crush.

And if you’re still trying to recall those sweet crushes, let the smooth vocals of  Yuna and Usher remind you.

8 thoughts on “A Soundtrack for Crushes

      1. I stumbled upon Jhene Aiko after listening to Yuna – they complement each other well on “Used to love you.” Thanks for sharing your beautiful poem with me. Looking forward to checking out your blog more…

Leave a comment